3 replies to this topic

#1 Maverick-Werewolf

Maverick-Werewolf

Alpha Leader

• Forums Administrator
  • 12,176 posts

Posted 01 March 2013 - 11:00 AM

POPULAR

This is an extremely rough preview of an Uncharted fan-fiction I've been cooking up for the past two years. A lot of the dialogue is still very iffy, and I confess I haven't proofread it much yet because I'm too curious to see what people think to wait for the finished product. :P Some of the mythology is quite a stretch, but the worst stretching that I'm doing isn't featured in this particular preview. Let's just say that the monsters are predictable given my interests, but I promise I've tried to incorporate them into the legend as well as possible. I'm pleased with the results so far. I really love Naughty Dog's seamless incorporation of various myths and legends in the Uncharted setting, while also creating something very unique and thrilling. I'm trying to accomplish a similar feel, although I'm by no means saying I can do nearly as good of a job.

I'm hoping to, after I finish this and polish it, post this in chapters over the course of a few weeks. You can also find it on my DeviantArt here, and on my theoretical personal site, whenever I get around to making that.

Hope you enjoy! Title is a WIP, by the way. It's mostly just a placeholder while I think of a better one. Also, fair warning, contains language ("s-word," 3 times). Actually two languages, if Latin counts. Anyway, without further ado:

UNCHARTED

Drake's Curse

A cacophony of noise that filled the entire British airport: small suitcase wheels rolling against the tile floor, myriad conversations of passengers waiting for their flight, and various flight and luggage announcements called out over speakers. It would’ve been frustrating to someone who couldn’t easily lose themselves in thought or someone who tensely awaited their flight.