Jump to content



  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
No replies to this topic

#1 Maverick-Werewolf


    Alpha Leader

  • Forums Administrator
  • 12,181 posts

Posted 09 May 2017 - 03:40 PM

Your deity is the particular god or goddess whom you revere above all others. Deities are different according to regional cultures.


However, you are not restricted to worshiping only deities from your region - some Northmen worship the Olympians, for example, after moving into the Empire, or vice versa. If you put "None" in this section of your character sheet, it will be assumed you have no preferred deity, rather than assuming you do not believe that the gods exist (they do exist).


Your chosen deity may affect the game very little, or it may affect small things at various points (or bigger ones - you never know who you might run into). Be sure to choose a deity that suits your character!


Which deity you worship will heavily affect your Divine or Demonic magic.  Each deity in the list will have their own entry regarding what kind of magic you receive from them. For further details on Divine and Demonic magic and how to acquire it, please see the Magic thread. If you are using Divine magic, you must specify a particular deity, rather than a broader pantheon.


All users of Demonic magic must replace their Deity section with their chosen Demon Lord.


Please note that this deity list, while long, still does not include every single deity in the setting. If you have a deity (from classical mythology) in mind that is not in this list, please post about it in the Errant Q&A thread.


Deities List


There are many deities in the realms of Wulfgard. It would be far too much to list all of them here. Therefore, many of the primary gods will be listed for some of the major pantheons, but there will surely be a few left out.


Astra Aeterna

Astra Aeterna ("Eternal Star," often shortened to simply Astra, also called "Aster Aeternus" in the masculine) is, according to "her" followers, an omnipotent god of light who almost never interferes directly in mortal affairs, but watches and judges from afar. Originally a small cult within the Achaean Empire, the followers of Astra have now grown into a powerful group, especially since the reign of Emperor Aurelius I, who was himself a member of the cult. Their symbol is a four-pointed star, usually white or silver. Many knightly orders in the Empire now follow Astra, including the Knights Templar, and worship of Astra has spread to many corners of the mortal realm.


The Olympians (Achaean Pantheon)

Most Achaeans worship a pantheon of gods they believe to dwell upon Mount Olympos, the highest summit in the very center of the Jagged Edge.

For a list of some of the major Olympian gods and some details about them, open the spoiler tag:



Aesir and Vanir (Nordling, Dwarf, and Elf Pantheon)

The men, elves, and dwarves of Northrim (this, obviously, thus excludes Desert Dwarves) all follow a similar pantheon. It includes both the Aesir and Vanir, two groups of gods who eventually became allies after a long and bloody feud. The Aesir are the more powerful and warlike of the two, while the Vanir are more peaceful and nature-loving. They regularly interact with the Jotnar, and some are considered part of the pantheon.


For a list of some of the major Aesir and Vanir gods and some info about them, open the spoiler tag:



The Old Kingdom (Kemheti and Deshreti Pantheon)

The gods of Kemhet are sometimes referred to as the Old Kingdom, because the Kemheti believe them to be far older than most other gods, perhaps from the days of the Titans. Most are closely associated with beasts, often being depicted as beastfolk. Others are closely associated with death and the Underworld.


For a list of some of the major Old Kingdom gods and some info about them, open the spoiler tag:



Ormazd and Ahriman (Parsansharian Pantheon)

In Parsanshar, the people follow a religion of duality: of light and darkness. Thus, their pantheon consists of only two beings. Their beliefs have spread to other regions of the world, but Parsanshar remains the primary region for this pantheon. Both gods are some of the oldest beings that have ever existed.



Ormazd is the all-powerful god of light. He stands for all things good, pure, and just, standing opposed to Ahriman. Some believe he is the basis of the cult of Astra Aeterna.



Ahriman is the extremely powerful god of darkness. He stands for all things evil and corrupt, standing opposed to Ormazd. Every being, even the greatest of Demon Lords and some of the highest gods, fears Ahriman's name.


Demon Lords (AKA Demon Princes, Archdemons)

The Demon Lords or Princes (also called Archdemons) are the most powerful of all demons. They each have their own minions who spread their particular brand of evil. Some demon lords are former gods themselves, who were cast down, exiled, or imprisoned for various reasons. Unlike lesser demons, they have true free will and may not be purely evil. They are the rulers of the Underworld, below the Death Gods. Anyone who uses demonic magic must revere the demon lord with whom they made their pact.


Be sure to visit the wiki article about Demons.


For a list of the demon lords and some information about them, open the spoiler tag:



Beastfolk Pantheons

There are many different beastfolk pantheons scattered across the mortal realm. Here are just a few examples of some primary gods and spirits worshiped by beastfolk.



Although also revered by Achaeans as a judge of the dead, Minos is the primary deity of the minotaurs, the taurian beastfolk who live in Knossos, the capital of the Minoan Empire. They consider Minos to be a friend to all beastfolk, especially taurians, hence their taking up the title "minotaurs" (bulls of Minos).



Although also considered to be an Achaean god (and frequently worshiped in Arcadia), Pan is also worshiped by satyrs, elves who dwell in the Empire, and dryads. Pan is a satyr, himself, and he is considered the be a god of nature, shepherds, and the flock.



The primary deity of the reptilian beastfolk that dwell within Rognosst Swamp (often whether they consider themselves a part of the Empire of Rognosst or not), particularly the lizardfolk, is a being they refer to as "the dragon god Rognosst," from which the swamp receives its name. This dragon is the only creature said to live within the Shadowvale, though few have ever seen him. The lizardfolk offer sacrifices to him on a daily basis, or more often on days of special occasion, in times of need or fear, or for some other unique event. The beastfolk worshiping him have built a mighty, if bloodthirsty, civilization in his honor, complete with enormous stone pyramids, great carvings, and even some primitive writings. It is said that, if the civilization of the reptile beastfolk is badly threatened, Rognosst will arise from the shadows of the corrupted woods to defend his worshipers.


Nature Spirits

Many beastfolk - and other creatures, for that matter - simply revere various nature spirits. These spirits generally include spirits of the earth, rivers, the sea, mountains, stones, the sky, and much more, as well as the spirits of animals. The names for these spirits vary far and wide among many cultures.


Chaos Races Pantheon

Essentially, there is only one god in the pantheon of the Chaos Races. Some orcs might worship strength in general, or some deity they make up on their own, but most all Chaos races revere either the jotnar who command their army, jotnar in general, or the greatest jotunn of all... Surtur.



The Fire Giants are the greatest of all jotnar, and they are ruled by their mighty king, Surtur. Surtur created the Chaos Races and plans to lead them to war against the Noble races of Midgard at the time of Ragnarok, the end of the world.


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users